Cold chicken and expensive humiliation

~~This really was posted last night, but I made a boo-boo and posted it as a page instead of a post. Oops!~~

Tonight’s dinner for hubby and kids:

  • Oven-fried chicken
  • Red Potato Salad
  • Corn on the cob
  • Peas

Tonight’s dinner for me:

  • Hard as a rock chicken
  • Red Potato Salad, cold version
  • Corn petrified to the cob

I had a ladies meeting at church to go to at 7pm. I got started fixing dinner on time at 2:30pm, but was delayed while I went to Wal-Mart, so ended up an hour behind. I plopped everything on the not-cleared-off table as soon as it was finished at 6:50pm and headed out the door. I even forgot my bible. It’s been one of those days.

After 2 really good weeks, Matthew had an all-out fit last night, followed by another this morning. I barely managed to grab a shower while the chicken was in the oven. I did manage to the monkey toy finished for the new baby at church, at least. Oh, and I found a really cute ceramic red cross with hearts and “God is love” on it for $3 at the dollar store. (I’d take a picture, but at the moment getting photos uploaded is a pain. I need to go figure out the new puter…that should make things easier) I love it! It’s hanging in my living room up against those purdy blue walls.

Yesterday was one of those days, too, actually. Matthew wasn’t the only one who had a fit yesterday. So did Meagan. I guess I did, too, in a sense.

Meagan had an orthodontist appointment yesterday and got another C for brushing. That makes 3 in a row, after a D. On top of that, both bands were loose and had to be reseated. According to the ortho that never happens after only 6mo, so she had to be jiggling the headband thing up and down to get it out. All in all, I got the feeling he thought I was the absolute worst mom ever at controlling my kids dental habits. Certainly the worst in his practice. He’s talking about taking all her stuff off and calling it quits because she does such a lousy job at brushing. That would mean, of course, being just plain out the $3,000…no fixed teeth/jaw. Just pay for the privilege of being humiliated. Plus we’d get to pay again later on as a teen to get the work done, only then it would likely require oral surgery. Great!

Here’s the thing though, she’s 10. I’m not going to brush them for her. I make her brush them. YES, I send her back if they’re not clean. Yes, I make her brush. I’m not with her at lunch, and most mornings lately I’m not awake before she leaves for school, either, so the only time I can say for sure she is brushing is at night, and YES I make her do it then. Every night. I also watch her put her headgear on nearly every night, and she does NOT move it up and down (which is the no-no that she must be doing for those bands to be loose…). She does it properly, every time. Now the take-off? I don’t know. She has it off before I see her. I have seen her take it off, and when I’ve seen it, she does it properly. She says she still is.

So why is it this is such a huge issue? Why am I the awfullest mom? No, he hasn’t said that, but I totally get the idea he’s thinking it. I don’t know, maybe not, but I’m definitely not comfortable in there. He keeps saying it’s a control thing and she gets more attention this way. Umm, ok, maybe so but unless HE is going to come control her for me….ya know? Plus she totally does not like the attention she’s getting this way. Truly. She gets more (like goodies like shopping trips and ice cream trips and stuff) when she does good. The difference is striking enough she totally knows there is one. So the more attention thing? Only in so far as she gets more chewing-outs.

What else can I do? I don’t know. I’m on her case all the time to brush, brush better, floss, etc. ALL the time. I just don’t know what else to do. She is brushing, just not well, and it’s a fight every night to get her to go back and try again. As for now, she’s grounded. Also she’s been told that she must do the 30sec mouthwash, 2min brush, spiral brush, floss, 30sec mouthwash, precisely the way I’ve shown her (again!) every morning and every night or she will get a spanking every time.

So, yeah. Been a couple of those days in a row. Fun, fun.

0 Responses to “Cold chicken and expensive humiliation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

