Grillin’ Without A Grill

Works for Me WednesdaysSo the other night I was going to try a new recipe for grilled pineapple, and then I realized…I don’t have a grill! So I quickly thought of all the times I’ve roasted marshmallows over my gas stovetop (because it’s easier than packing the kids and all the gear and going out to the boondocks to build a campfire). Why couldn’t I do that with the pineapple, I thought. So I did. And then it hit me. Hey! I could post this as a Works-For-Me-Wednesday post…if I can remember to do it. So I am. =) Here ya go…

To make a grill inside without a grill you will need:

  • gas stovetop
  • broiler pan

That’s it. Really. What I did was this: I took the two left-hand side grates and stacked them on the right-hand side ones. Then I put the broiler pan on top. To be sure it was not the steadiest thing in the world, but if you’re reasonably careful and don’t get super excited with your turning-things-over-on-the-grill technique, it should be fine.

With the broiler pan perched on top of my double-high grates, I could turn the two burners on to high and the flames would not touch the bottom of the pan. True, the heat is not just real even, but hey, this isn’t a hundreds of dollars model, either!

As for the pineapple… I sprayed some butter-flavored nonstick spray on the broiler pan, then turned up the heat. When it was hot, I laid the slices of pineapple on top and grilled them for a few minutes on each side. Not only did this work, it worked well. The broiler pan I have has raised lines (I’m too stupid to know if all broiler pans do or not…), and I was surprised to find that not only did the pineapple heat, but it came out with the browned ‘grillmarks’ too! Too cool!

Works for me!

2 Responses to “Grillin’ Without A Grill”


  1. 1 Britni March 26, 2008 at 10:17 am

    I love grilled pineapple. This sounds great! Yum!!

  2. 2 laane March 26, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Hmmm great tip! Never thought of this. Thanks for sharing.

    You can find my tip at:

    Laane on the World

    Have a great week and an amazing spring!!!


Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

