Upgrading for Dummies

For a week now, WordPress has been telling me: “A new version of WordPress is available! Please update now.” Today I signed in and got: “Your WordPress 2.3.3 is out of date. Please update.”

Ya know? I’d love to really. I even tried. Honest! But I’m just too stupid for words WordPress.

See, back when I switched from that other blogging service to WordPress so that I could use the way-too-cool-themes, I discovered I was much too stupid to figure out how to get the program set up to work. I had it downloaded and installed, but I couldn’t get past that.

Then I saw links to webhosting services that would install WordPress…set it up I mean!…with the click of one button. Oh yeah!!

So I immediately went and checked ’em out. Ok, so the dashboard panel thingy at my web server place thingy is also way too complicated for me to figure out, but after several agonizing minutes I DID find the one button to get WordPress set up.

I clicked. I was set up. Yea for WordPress and HostICan!! You rock!

Now they want me to update, which is apparently going to take WAY more than one click of a button. And frankly? I’m way too stupid to figure it all out. I didn’t use to be. Honest. Ten years ago I definintely would have been all over this sucker the very day the new version was released. But now? Not so much. I don’t know if it’s “mommy-brain” or just “I’m too old to mess with this brain” or what, but I totally can NOT wrap my brain around any of it.

So I’m sorry. I really did try, WordPress. I promise. I followed the instructions for backing up and whatever as best I could. I clicked buttons. I made the computer make funny noises when windows popped up. I followed links. I clicked more buttons. I picked folders to save things in. I clicked more buttons…and then…inevitably I hit the proverbial brick wall. I got super stuck. I no longer have any idea whether this blog is backed up properly or improperly. I no longer have any idea what I’m even talking about. Is that a cocoon hanging off your nose? See?? I need some serious help here.

WordPress and HostICan…are you listening? I need a one click upgrade button…

I’m just sayin. =)

2 Responses to “Upgrading for Dummies”


  1. 1 Hooked on Houses April 5, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I’m cracking up because my blog is on WordPress.com and they updated it yesterday without notifying any of us poor bloggers first. I’m sure the new version is fabulous–if only I could get it to work. Now it won’t even let me upload pics any more. Sorry to vent to you about it, but I laughed when I stumbled across your blog and saw what you had to say about your experience! :-)

    Hey, I see you put my site on your blogroll. That’s so nice! Thanks! -Julia

  2. 2 smurfytxmom April 9, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Don’t apologize for venting, Julia! That’s what I was doing, after all. I totally understand. =) I hope you have better luck with the upgrade! As for me? I will just have to suffer with my horribly outdated WordPress version until they make me a magic button. *sigh* Thanks for you comment. Your site makes my day, often. My blogroll was not complete without you on it!


Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

