Finally! My Bathroom

So 2 months later… The first in a series of however-many-rooms-I-have. (I don’t feel like counting right now.)

Alright. So here is the “Before” pic. Taken summer of ’07. That was when we were at “critical mass”. By that I mean, the house was in the worst ever shape, and the fullest of junk ever as well. Not quite the most occupied, though, as Bro3 moved out in Mar of ’07. Some of his stuff is still here, however. So anyway. There were only 8 of us living in this 2 bedroom, 1 bath last summer.

Bathroom Before July ‘07

Behind the door is a linen closet, then further in the room on that side is the bathroom sink/mirror. Then a door into the master bedroom. At the far end on the left is another linen closet (for towels) and straight across from it (behind the nekkid wall) is the shower. Now, in this pic you’ll notice there is no bathtub. That’s because back in Sept of ’06 (yes, that’s right, almost a year prior to this picture….) we had a massive water bill that screamed “HELLO!! You have a big water leak!!” So Mike started ripping up floors throughout the house looking for it. First the bathroom floor (and wall), which meant the bathtub had to be moved into the hall. The laundry room and kitchen (under the sink) floors were also butchered. The hole in the bathroom floor had too-long-for-the-hole-so-it-wobbles boards placed over it. You had to climb over them (or step on them and listen to the wobble) to get to the shower or the towel closet. I am SO glad it’s fixed now! =)

Anyhow. In Nov-ish(?) of ’08, Mike got the floor patched back up and arranged for Lowes to come install new linoleum. So here is the “After”…

Bathroom After Nov ‘07

Ok, so that was a MILLION times better than before since it also cleared a huge (bathtub-sized) chunk out of the hall. The wall was still nekkid, though. It took me until Feb. to figure out what to do with it. Mike didn’t want to rebuild it per se just yet since we plan to completely redo all the tile at some point and he wanted to make it all match. This is what I came up with.

Bathroom AfterAfter Mar ‘08

It’s a vinyl shower curtain held up with thumbtacks and clear packing tape. Still not the “I just stepped under the ocean” look I’ve imagined for years, but we’re kinda sorta closer…right? =) Please ignore the water bottle in the tub. I do not know why it is there. Ask the daughter. lol Oh, and my purty green rug? In the laundry. One of the dogs was so nice and thoughtful…they went potty in the bathroom…they just kinda sorta missed the toilet. =(

One more. This is a before, actually. The after is up above. This is a close-up of the fish tank on the wall over the toilet. Back before SharkBait (the Betta) went to the Great Ocean to become shark food for real. Woke up one morning and he was dead. Only thing seemingly amiss was a bee found floating in his tank. Was SharkBait allergic to bee stings, perhaps? We’ll never know. The kids are still hounding me for a new fish. One of these days I guess I’ll have to take the tank down, clean it, and find a SharkBait Jr to call it home.

SharkBait RIP

3 Responses to “Finally! My Bathroom”


  1. 1 Lovelyart April 12, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Hi, love your blog and you are very talented at crafting. I’m going to link your blog. I’m lovelyart on Swapbot

  2. 2 Emily April 12, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    What a lovely bathroom! What an improvement!

    emielli05 Found through the Blogging and comments ** E-mail Swap

  3. 3 Sonya April 13, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    What a huge project! I think I’d just sit in the middle and cry LOL.
    I enjoyed reading your posts. I love daisies too! I added you to my site and look forward to reading more. Sonya from Swap-bot


Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

