Change is in the air

Woohoo! I got another section of my super-secret crochet project done. One more big section, then some smaller ones and it’ll be ready for the unveiling. yippee! I’m hoping only another 3 or 4 weeks, but it will totally depend on how cooperative my hands and TIREDNESS are. =)

If they would cooperate, the insomnia (yeah, I know, you’d THINK that being tired would make insomnia an impossibility, wouldn’t ya? You’d be wrong, though. ugg!) would maybe be a good thing, allowing me to work on it more. Right? Hey, there’s got to be a silver lining in here somewhere. No really, I know there truly is. ALL things work together for the GOOD of those who love the Lord, remember.

Mike’s shifts are switching as of next week. Well, part of it is, anyway. Instead of M-F 10pm-6am, he’ll be working T & F 6am-6pm and S & S 10pm-6am. Messed up, huh?

I’m hoping it’ll end up being a good thing, though. I think it might be. I mean I know his sleep is going to be even more messed up for awhile, BUT I think the having to keep switching will actually encourage him to really TRY to get a sleep schedule going. As it is he sleeps only 2-3hr at a time because he doesn’t really try to make the days night or the nights day. Plus this will give us 2 days during the week in which he’ll be sleeping nights AND be home/available during the day.

He’ll have to sleep for awhile Monday mornings, then sleep nights again till Saturday, when he’ll need to sleep Saturday afternoon so he can work that night. That means that Tuesdays and Wednesdays he’ll have slept the night before and will be sleeping that night, so will be home and AWAKE both during the day.

I KNOW this will be a good thing, because I can try to make all my dr appointments (and the kids out-of-town ones, as well) on Tuesdays or Wednesdays. This way Mike will be able to drive me and I won’t have to feel guilty about him losing sleep-time over it either!

I’ve been so excited for this it’s pathetic. lol Not “coincidentally” my first dr appointment is on a Tuesday. When I told Mike he said “Good, I’ll be able to take you.” YES!!!!!!!! I’m doing an ecstatic happy dance. Woohoohoo! I didn’t even have to ASK him.

My honey…he’s been so sweet and concerned. And there I had been scared-to-death that he, too, would think I was making stuff up or else just would not be interested or care. He did think I was being stubborn and procrastinatin’ about some things, though. This was when I was hurting so bad last week and he wanted to take me to the dr and I was beggin’ him not to because I still hadn’t been able to check about the health insurance yet. So I might have been stubborn, but not really procrastinating… so much. lol

The sucky parts of the shift change, though (aside from being 2 different schedules!) are: he has to work this Sat and Sun night, which will be days 6 and 7 in a row; and he’ll be leaving the house around 4:30-5:00 AM!! on Thurs and Fri. Man I hope he doesn’t want me to get up and cook eggs for him! LOL I’ll have to start packing some big lunches for him, too, since it’s 12hr shifts, and he’ll have to have food to take his pills with. Lots of water, too, I hope, since this is Texas and it’s summertime.

I think the kids are finally asleep, so I guess I’ll get back to crochetin’ while the crochetin’ is good. ;-)

0 Responses to “Change is in the air”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

