My Goals and Plans for 2009

I’ve been thinking a lot about the different goals and such I want to set for the new year. I don’t feel like I have everything nailed down just yet, but I do have a couple. I’m not going to call these resolutions, but goals. I like the idea of having a goal or a theme or whatever for the year.

One thing I plan on doing is trying very, very hard to keep grocery spending to $80 or less a week. That includes toiletries, paper and cleaning products, and pet supplies. (Except the flea control, since I get that online.)

I did a trial run sotospeak today. I planned out a menu for the next week…

Wed- hamburger helper, leftover veggies
Thurs- blackeyed peas, beans, cornbread
Fri- ground beef stew
Sat- creamy chicken casserole
Sun- crockpot potato soup
Mon- chicken/veggie/rice bake
Tues- pizzas
Wed- grilled cheese and tater tots

…and went to the store to pick up the things I’d need to accomplish this. I also had to make sure I got stuff for lunches both here at home and then Mon-Wed of next week school lunches.

I also needed to get sponges, scrubbies, and rinse aid for the dishwasher if I had enough $ leftover.

I was pretty sure I’d make it this week since I already had ground beef, bread, and almost 2 gallons of milk.

I also had a bunch of coupons, some of which were expiring within the next week, so IF I was going to have enough leftover and IF it would be a good deal (i.e. something we would actually use or would be buying later), I wanted to add a few things that weren’t on my list.

I did it! =) I got everything on my have-to-get list and more for $71!!

Some of the better highlights…

I bought 10lb of potatoes instead of 5lb, so they’ll go twice as far. I got a one-load package of Tide and a bottle of Suave hairspray for free. I got 4 cans of soup, and 4 packages of rice that weren’t on the list, so that’s a decent start towards next weeks’ groceries.

I did actually spend more than the $80 today, though. I went to the dollar store and spent $20 on Christmas decorations (LOTS, plus 4 matching Christmas dinner plates), and I also spent $15 on Christmas stuff at WalMart (mostly tins for giving away fudge or cookies next year).

The only things I didn’t pick up (yet) are carrots which go on sale tomorrow, and another gallon of milk which Mike can pick up on his way home from work Saturday for cheaper than I could get it here.

Not too bad for a first go! I even had room to get some crockpot liners and shampoo!

Another thing I’m going to try to do in 2009 is finish up a BUNCH of little projects and also start and finish some bigger ones.

I’ll be updating my projects page to the new 2009 goals tonight or tomorrow.

I’m hoping that the projects I want/plan to do will be at least partially funded by ‘leftover’ grocery $. That’s a pretty tall order considering I’ve set a limit of $80 a week and I’ve been averaging around $180 a week. It’s going to be hard enough to keep it under the $180 consistently, let alone enough under $80 that I have leftovers! We’ll see.

I told the kids what I plan on doing and told them that anything leftover up to the $80 mark gets put into a project/goody fund. I’m hoping they will help me out and then we’ll be able to buy stuff like paint and lamps for their room, maybe a new Wii game, or just a trip to the ice cream shop.

0 Responses to “My Goals and Plans for 2009”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

