100 Things About Me

This is my 100th post, and since I’ve taken up the habit of counting things, I thought I’d post 100 pieces of trivia about myself. They will likely be a mix of mundane, surprising, strange, and outright weird. At least I hope so, since that would be the best representation of me… mundane yet sometimes surprising, a little strange, and downright weird at times. Here goes!

  1. I’m 5′ short.
  2. My husband calls me vertically challenged.
  3. He also calls me directionally challenged.
  4. I get lost if I try to go anywhere other than the church, pediatrician’s, or one of the 2 stores in town.
  5. I was scared of cats until we got our little Chloe-doll.
  6. I miss Chloe… a LOT.
  7. I have always wanted lots of kids…like 8.
  8. I would love to adopt at some point.
  9. Actually I’d love to adopt a LOT of kids at some point.
  10. Or else just run an orphanage like I used to dream about doing.
  11. I designed the floor plan for a 5 story orhpanage (that incl full-story attic and basement) when I was in high school.
  12. I was engaged before I was married.
  13. I did not marry the person I was engaged to!
  14. My first job was working at Dairy Queen.
  15. I used to sing Green Day songs while I mopped the floors at work.
  16. I was so full of teenage angst my ‘theme song’ at the time contained the words “she screams in silence, a sullen riot penetrating through her mind”
  17. Only problem was, I didn’t do my screaming and sulking in silence!
  18. I am ashamed to admit I listened to some of the junk and filth I did in high school.
  19. I am even more ashamed of some of the things I DID in high school.
  20. In school (ALL grades) I was the shortest kid in class and almost always THE shyest/quietest.
  21. A guy I went to school with tells a story about how I stood up in the middle of math class in 8th grade, screamed SHUT UP! and then slapped him. He says I had a headache. Whatever.
  22. I do NOT remember doing that. Seriously. I didn’t remember it when he first told it in Spanish class the next year, even. He’s probably right, though.
  23. I have 4 sisters and 6 brothers.
  24. We’re not all part of the same families.
  25. I have one full-blood sibling. The rest share only 1 or no biological parents.
  26. They’re all still my brothers and sisters, though, and I love them all!
  27. I do not wear a wedding ring or engagement ring.
  28. I do not own a wedding ring or engagement ring.
  29. I didn’t have a wedding or a honeymoon.
  30. Yes we really are married! LOL
  31. When I was little Punky Brewster, CHIPS, and M*A*S*H were my favorite shows.
  32. I still watch M*A*S*H* anytime I catch it on.
  33. I used to collect unicorns.
  34. I used to collect cows for the kitchen.
  35. I slept with my stuffed Smurf (named “Smurf”) and a teddy bear from Six Flags (named “Snowball”) until I was married.
  36. I slept with them sometimes AFTER I was married, too.
  37. I got Smurf for my 3rd birthday and every year on my birthday I would tell him happy ____ birthday, too.
  38. Our dog Butterscotch ate Smurf. Well, some of him anyways. The rest was strewn all over the laundry room.
  39. I very nearly almost cried when Smurf got torn up.
  40. I am “big on tradition”.
  41. I don’t like change much.
  42. Except when it comes to furniture placement and decor. Then I like lots of change.
  43. I collect old Coca-Cola advertising, or at least stuff that LOOKS like the old Coca-Cola advertising.
  44. I hope to someday get my kitchen to look like a 50s diner, complete with red sparkly vinyl booth with a jukebox on the table!
  45. My favorite kind of day is cool, gray, and cloudy. A little rain makes it perfect!
  46. I like walking in the rain.
  47. I love the smell of rain!
  48. I used to be petrified of high winds, particularly tornadoes.
  49. I’m still scared of them, but I don’t get full-out panic attacks and paralysis with them anymore! =)
  50. I like filling orders from a list, or putting together packages of like items.
  51. Themes are big with me… themes for room decor, gift baskets, parties, school lessons, you name it!
  52. I love playing the clarinet and bass clarinet.
  53. I can’t play either anymore because of my rotten (literally) teeth.
  54. I am learning to play the Irish tin whistle.
  55. Aside from the above, my all time favorite instruments include the cello.
  56. I went to Vacation Bible School twice growing up. Neither time for the full week.
  57. I went to church camp once.
  58. My parents moved while I was at camp.
  59. We moved 7 times while I was growing up.
  60. I was born in Virginia, but have lived in Texas since I was 9mo old.
  61. My ‘claim to fame’ is that Davy Crockett of Alamo fame is my great-great-great-great uncle.
  62. In high school, we put together a deal where we predicted what everyone would be doing in 10yrs. (Well a ‘committee’ did, not all of us). It was predicted that in 10yrs I would be a nun living in silence.
  63. I started smoking the end of my junior year in high school. I was 16.
  64. The smoking stopped April 18, 2007. I didn’t do it.
  65. I once burned a bra. Because I was stoopid.
  66. I decided at 4 or 5 years old that I wanted to be a doctor when I grew up.
  67. I called myself Dr. Megan My-Maiden-Name-Here.
  68. When we first started picking out names for our first child, I crossed out every name that was a NO-WAY in the book. Megan was one of those names.
  69. We named our daughter Meagan.
  70. I gave up the dream/goal of being a doctor in high school for several reasons, one of which was extreme anxiety/shyness. (I realized that as a doctor I’d have to deal with LOTS and LOTS of people, many of them other doctors!!)
  71. I have worn my hair all different lengths from bobbed higher than my chin to skimming my waistband.
  72. I have had 2 perms. The first was a success at age 8. The second was well… NOT at 15.
  73. I had my ears pierced at 16.
  74. My dad had to use pliers to get a loop earring out/off my severely swollen ear.
  75. I let my ears grow closed and have left them alone ever since!
  76. I break out in itchy water blister looking hives if I wear metal jewelry (even the hypo-allergenic ones).
  77. I once placed first in a writing contest (though you wouldn’t be able to tell by the drivel I pound out on here!)
  78. I have an inherent sense of spelling. Most words I only need to look at once or hear once to know how to spell it.
  79. I drive my mom nuts by correcting her spelling… she’s a really poor speller.
  80. I love my mom to pieces and we get along great now.
  81. When I lived at home, my mom and I fought like cats and dogs…All. The. Time.
  82. I scream at my kids way more than I would like to (which would be never). It’s a struggle/battle I haven’t won yet, but keep fighting.
  83. I slept under a train bridge for a few nights in high school, before ‘moving’ into an outdoor cellar.
  84. I worked as a receptionist for H&R Block during tax season one year. (PLEASE don’t scream at the gal on the phone when you call to ask if your return is ready yet, she TRULY can’t do anything about it. She is handed a box of ready returns with phone #s to call and let the people know they are in, and then told to also field all phone calls. If it’s not in that box, she has NO way of knowing where it is!)
  85. I have a very particular way I want lights (and lots of them!) strung on my Christmas tree.
  86. I perfected the tree-lighting technique when I worked at Montgomery Wards and was in charge of assembling the entire Christmas display.
  87. I ruined about 6 pairs of panty hose and tore my arms to shreds putting up and decorating the dozen or so trees all mooshed together.
  88. I lived in a hotel for 5 weeks before Mike and I got our first apartment together.
  89. I once sung “This is the song that never ends…” for 4 hours straight with a cousin of mine.
  90. I taught my kids all of my old annoying tricks and songs. What was I thinking?!
  91. I used to put on performances for my parents and extended family. Usually lip-syncing/dancing. Usually to either Michael Jackson or Weird Al.
  92. I read The Thorn Birds at age 10. My grandmother loaned it to me. WHAT?! was she thinking?! If it were a movie, it would be at least R, probably X rated. Very descriptive. I do NOT recommended it for anyone, let alone a 10yr girl!
  93. I wore a short purple velvet dress, silver pumps, silver fingernail polish, and carried a silver backpack to prom.
  94. I like the color red best, with true grass green a close second.
  95. I like my coffee strong and black.
  96. I eat coffee creamer without the coffee. Mmmm!!
  97. I have a serious black thumb problem. Seriously. If you go on vacation do NOT ask me to take care of your plants. If you do, you might as well just toss them out the back door now.
  98. I love the Dragonriders of Pern books.
  99. My favorite book series, though, is Anne of Green Gables. We are kindred spirits.
  100. I love simulation games like Caesar, Emperor, The Sims, and Virtual Villagers.
0 Responses to “100 Things About Me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

