It’s Lyme Disease Awareness Month Again!!

I could type up a bunch of stuff about Lyme Disease right now. About how it has stolen several full years of my life and many, many aspects of my life over several MORE years. About how horrible and debilitating it is not just for the person who has it, but for their entire family as well. I could spout statistics to you or give you a VERY long list of symptoms my family (nearly all of us infected) have dealt with. I could recite scores of different medicines and supplements we’ve had to take… some of which have done wonders to help and others which only brought horrble side effects with no gain. I *could* do all that… OR I could share a link that came across one of my Lyme Disease email groups that tells about some of the brain problems that Lyme causes.

The brain problems are the most difficult to explain, the most difficult to understand, and the most difficult to see (obviously!) And for me they were the ones that ‘cinched’ the deal and convinced me there absolutely was something *wrong* with me and that I *had* to get help. That’s because, being born with Lyme, most of the physical problems I was having when I “crashed” a few years back, were just worsening of stuff I’d been dealing with my whole life. The physical stuff I could write off as being just a natural part of aging…at least for me. (Never mind the fact that I was in my mid-20s!)

While I could write off the physical stuff by itself (and had been), it was when my brain “crashed” that I finally realized I was truly sick…and that the physical stuff wasn’t actually normal at all…and everything was likely connected somehow.

The bad news was because my brain (which had always worked REALLY well before) was now malfunctioning on a grand scale, while I realized I was sick and with the Lord’s help even managed to get an idea of what was going on, it took me over a year to actually figure out what to DO about it. Why? Simply put… my brain was too sick to think!

Only by the grace of God and the help of a (now-best) friend who was also sick with Lyme, but in treatment and was making good progress over that year (making her better able to think than me by far!) was I able to get in treatment. For months I was pretty sure what was wrong with me but could not for the life of me figure out what to do next. I tried to explain the problem to my husband, but since my brain was malfunctioning, that didn’t work so well. It was only when my friend was well enough that *her* brain was functioning well enough to “take over for mine” that anything was actually done. I have no doubt that’s because *she* knew exactly…first hand…what the problem was despite my inability to explain things.

If this article had existed back then (and I’d been able to process enough of it to realize just how big of a jewel it is), I have no doubt that this would have saved me months of misery, as it puts into very easy-to-understand words just exactly what I was dealing with and why (and how) I needed my husband to help me. If only he could have read this back then… =)

So, without further adieu, here is the wonderful treasure of Lyme Disease Awareness…

This Is Your Brain On Lyme

0 Responses to “It’s Lyme Disease Awareness Month Again!!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

