So many changes…

I’m sitting here waiting for some medicine to kick in so I won’t feel so icky. I have a million and one things to do, but right now I don’t feel well enough to do any of them. Since I have neglected this blog for the last 5mo in large part because I haven’t had time to dedicate to it, I thought right now might be a good time to try and do some updating.

Right now our little Chiweenie, Bluebell, is curled up with me in the chair. This is her favorite spot in the whole house…curled up with Mommy. She was supposed to be Matthew’s ‘therapy’ dog, but the ‘newness’ wore off or she started to aggravate him or something, because lately she’s been staying about 3in away from me at all times. That is, unless Matthew is actively playing with her. That’s ok, though, she helps keep my feet warm. LOL

Meagan and Matthew are out with a friend of ours feeding her horse. She started picking them up and taking them with her to go feed about a week and a half ago, and the kids are eating it up. They absolutely love it! Meagan has even gotten to ride Red a little bit. This same friend has kinda taken Meagan under her wing and is having her help babysit a couple of days a week. Meagan thinks it’s the best thing since sliced bread. She adores little kids and is really good with them, but I don’t feel she is mature enough to handle babysitting solo yet. This arrangement is perfect for her, though. Not only does she thoroughly enjoy the idea of having a job and a babysitting one (her dream job) at that, but she also has an older girl who is befriending her. She needs that desperately!

Matthew has been tagging along to go see the horse, and he loves visiting with the human babies, too, but he is not ‘working’. lol He’s able to work off a fraction of his energy by helping feed and take care of the horse, though, and he is always in need of ways to work off excess energy. Plus this arrangement also gives me a motivational tool that I can use with both kids. I tell them that they can’t go see Red if they haven’t gotten their school or chores done. =)

So what’s happened in the last 5mo besides the addition of Bluebell and trips to see a horse? A lot! My best friend’s ‘make-a-little-money-in-her-spare-time’ has turned into a full-time job. It pretty quickly became a full-time job for me, as well. Things grew that fast! Keeping up with orders has been tricky, to say the least. In the last month, we’ve been working hard to try and arrange things such that I could work from MY house at least 3 days a week, since Nov-Feb, it’s taken us both working (at her place) 5 days a week to keep up. That was fine for her business, but not so fine for our families. Her little one, my little Sweet-Cheeks had grown to resent her Aunt Chris being there every day when she got home from Kindergarten. Poor little mite just wanted her mama to herself. Oftentimes, we would end up working to about 4pm, which meant that her older kids would come home before I could get out of there, and that meant they felt like they didn’t have an attentive mama, too. Meanwhile, Meagan and Matt were (in a sense) eating it up that Mom was working full-time. To them that meant they could sleep all day, and then play video games and watch TV all night after Mom finally crashed.

I tried to ‘do school’ when I’d get home, but more often than not, I’d be waking the kids up when I got home around 4-5pm. It’d take an hour or more just to get them up and their meds in them, then I’d have to start fixing dinner. Mike would get up around 7-8pm, so it wouldn’t be until after he left for work around 9pm that I could really start any schoolwork. After a couple of hours of trying to figure out where each kid was in their work and trying to referee the complaining and bickering, I would start wearing out. Listening to them read out of their literature books would put me to sleep, of course, and so would waiting for one or the other to finish up the next bit so I could check it or what-not. I’d end up dozing for awhile and then around 2-3am manage to get their meds in them and then I’d go crash in bed, only to wake up around 8am to start all over again. The kids wouldn’t be anywhere close to ready for bed at 2-3am, of course, since they’d slept till 5pm or later, so I simply could not outlast them and that would leave them up watching TV or playing while I slept. Certainly they weren’t working on their schoolwork! LOL

That’s starting to change, though. We’ve been working towards getting things set-up where I can do what I need to for work from my house and only go over to my friend’s maybe once or twice a week to give her an extra pair of hands to help with packaging and shipping. This past week was the first week I was able to work from home, and it helped SO much! I still have massive amounts of catching up to do on housework, and the kids still aren’t fully re-adjusted to being up and doing schoolwork during the day, but I can definitely see a difference, already. We still have some kinks to work out, but this arrangement is going to work out so much better for both our families!!

Matthew’s sleep hours getting switched back to something closer to normal is paramount in managing his “mood disorder” according to his new psychiatrist. I’m not sure yet what to think of this doc. He wants to remove the BP diagnosis, which I do not agree with. On the one hand, I don’t care what you call it as long as it is treated properly, but on the other hand knowing what we’re dealing with is KEY to treating it properly. There’s no doubt in my mind he has BP I. I’ve done enough reading and research, there is simply no question this is what he is dealing with. Knowing that, I hate to lose that descriptor and go back to a vague “mood disorder” diagnosis. This doc on the very first visit without knowing any of Matt’s history, took one look at his med profile and said he was on way too much medicine. Ummmm…. no. While I would dearly love for Matt to not be on so much medicine, the ones he is taking we’ve determined through trial and error he NEEDS to be taking. Same thing for the dosing. The doc immediately (first visit, knowing nothing about Matt personally) decided to switch his Seroquel from 200mg in the am and 300mg in the pm to 400mg all in the pm. We’d tried that set-up before and it hadn’t worked. We’d come to the 2x/day split through trial and error for a reason…he needs it split up. I couldn’t get that through the doc’s head, though, so we switched.

The 4wks between the 1st and 2nd pdoc visit Matt slipped further and further into mania. No surprise, since his Seroquel dosing was messed with and the total dose decreased as well. God is still on the throne, though. We arrived an hour early for his second appt and so the Nurse Practicioner saw us instead of the pdoc. During the 10min or so we were with her, Matthew talked about random things and was talking very quickly (a sign of mania). He also got up out of the chair more than once and I had to physically put him back in the chair. In other words, he was very obviously manic-ky. I told her this was why we had split the Seroquel into 2x/day. So, the NP added the missing 100mg back in…in the am! She also gave us a script for Trazodone to help him get to sleep at a more reasonable hour.

The Trazodone is working well, but we haven’t seen any ¬†improvements otherwise yet. It’s early still, and even though he is back to his full daily dose of the Seroquel, he is still getting only very little of it in the am making it available in his body during the day. Hopefully we’ll start seeing some improvement in the next week or two.

Also, I have found a therapist that I think would be really great for Matt, and I am trying to get an appt set up with him. We’ll have to pay out-of-pocket for him, but if he’s as good as he appears to be, it’ll be well worth it. He is a Christian counselor who works with teenage boys and his biggest focus is on encouraging them. This is exactly what Matt needs! He needs a godly Christian male influence in his life, someone who will encourage him in the Lord and help him with the managing of his emotions God’s way.

As for myself, since I am not pregnant yet, I think I am going to try and make an appointment with my old Lyme doc to get back on treatment. He just came out of retirement last week, and the timing could not be better! In the first few months after I ran out of the meds he had prescribed, I gained 60lb. The last 2-3 mo the babesiosis symptoms have been flaring back up with a vengeance…

It’s going to have to wait another month or two at least, though, since we just received the bill for Mike’s hospital stay back on Valentines. He has a thing for holidays. My first mother’s day (also the day we found out we were pg again) he had a massive heart attack and was Care-flighted to Dallas. He ended up getting two stents put in his heart. This time he went in for a stress test on the 13th because of some arrhythmias and other symptoms that had landed him in the ER the week before. The docs decided they didn’t want him even walking down the hall, let alone getting on the treadmill, so the took him down to the cath lab and he got another stent put in. At least this time things were caught *before* it turned into a heart attack!

Well, the kids are back now and my nose is telling me I need to go find some Benadryl, so I guess I’ll go try to hunt some up.

0 Responses to “So many changes…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Click to see posts written on a certain date

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

